Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General discussions, feature requests for CodeTyphon Project and discussions that don't fit in any of the other specific CodeTyphon forum categories.
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14088

  • Shpend
  • Shpend's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,:)

as mentioned in the header, why is the c:/codetyphon const and im not able to , lets say, move codetyphon to "C:/Program Files/codetyphon"

and may I change this behaviour with an own .bat/ (for windows) and for Linux(.sh) file?

What I did actually recently was, I changed the directory as described 1 line above to program files under directory and I got an big alert message, that I shall update the info related to these direcotry changes your tool recognized correctly and some other options it asks for, if I have created another installation of typhon which is not the case, so I pressed "Update Info" and let it do the work but I got an SIGSEGV: AccessViolation when I clicked that "Update Info" button.

I would be super glad for any help related to this issue , wish you alla great weekend :-)

Best regards

Shpendicus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14091

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4511
  • Thank you received: 1101
Thanks Sir
after 10 years of tests and develop the best installation directory for CT on windows OS is
c:/codetyphon/

and this can't be change, sorry... :)
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14096

  • gulyone
  • gulyone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 99
  • Thank you received: 5
my 10 cents
well, I have a computer with 32GB ram and a RAMdrive inside that ram (and I guess i'm not the only one pro running such a machine)...
so it would be SPEED interesting to compile, install and run CT on a RAMDrive

actually using ImDisc 12GB RamDrive
sourceforge.net/projects/imdisk-toolkit/

apart from tricks using grep modifying batch files and source code

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by gulyone.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14099

  • Shpend
  • Shpend's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Stefanos,

thx for the reply, but I have to stretch it again, why you dont allow ppl to install codetyphon where they want?

Cant you just tell me a, like, a log file or so, where this internal path is set all over and I write a batch file which adepts the path automatically?

Since I would like to have programs sorted in the respective app-folders, since codetyphon is a 64bit application on my specific machine and should be there also.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14100

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4511
  • Thank you received: 1101
Sir
CodeTyphon Kernel has static installation directory
and this can't be change

All CT elements, IDE, tools, scripts and CT-FPC are looking in this static directory for CT files.
CT can't be portable and we don't want to be portable,
it's so simple :blush:
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Sternas Stefanos.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14102

  • gulyone
  • gulyone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 99
  • Thank you received: 5
@Shpend
about install path ....
installing lazarus ide using fpcupdeluxe made it... then with the help of "ct2laz" tool you can port projects/units from and to ct with minimal effort

so it is totally possible to install lazarus ide with packages used by typon at any location (even multiple locations) you want
Cheers

what is cool switching from lazarus to CT or from CT to laz, is ...hmmm ... when a team do not want to walk a path, often the other team do it :P

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by gulyone.

unchangeable ct_path: "c:/codetyphon"? 4 years 4 months ago #14115

  • Rain
  • Rain's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 69
  • Thank you received: 8
Actually CodeTyphon can be installed even on a network-drive, - with a trick:

First create an empty directory on the network-drive like:
y:\bogusDir1\CT690\
and a directory c:\codetyphon must not exist, if so, rename or delete it.
Then perform this command:

mklink /D "c:\codetyphon" "y:\bogusDir1\CT690\"

Then change line 41 in CodeTyphonIns\install.bat to:
if EXIST C:\codetyphonZZZ (
GOTO GO_aa
) ELSE (
GOTO GO_bb
)

This is done to avoid calling GO_aa, because "c:\codetyphon" would then be deleted again, what we don't want.
Install runs through and usage is possible (even from multiple computers, - ok, maybe not concurrently, but still possible in sequence).

This is the only solution to use CT, if one runs out of space on the c: drive.

In a similar manner an already existing CT-installation on c:\codetyphon can be moved to USB- or Network-drive and then made be accessible via the mklink command again.



Proof:
c:\>dir
2014-11-28 20:20 <JUNCTION> CodeTyphon [E:\CodeTyphon]
2015-12-19 14:35 <DIR> Intel
2013-08-22 16:22 <DIR> PerfLogs
2019-10-08 21:48 <DIR> Program Files
2019-10-04 05:08 <DIR> Program Files (x86)
2014-05-03 22:55 <DIR> Users
2019-10-05 00:28 <DIR> Windows

Here mklink /J was used, because E: it is an internal drive, not a network drive, - network drives require the /D switch.

This is somehow "portable". (provided the system-libraries are already present)
On a foreign computer just plug in your USB drive, do the mklink magic, and maybe copy over the "C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\typhon64\" directory, but even that could be redirected with a proper mklink to the usb drive.
One could just create a 2 line batch file on the USB-drive to perform those 2 link creations. No actual data is stored or left on the temporary host computer, just the 2 links.

And with some renaming-acrobatic on the external drive, it can be switched between versions and configurations.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wyng

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1