× CodeTyphon Platforms (Win, GTK2/3, QT4/5, Cocoa, etc) Development, discussions and problems

Question fpGUI integration to CT

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
6 years 13 hours ago #6625 by Sternas Stefanos
fpGUI integration to CT was created by Sternas Stefanos
We start fpGUI Platform integration to Lab CodeTyphon 5.3

Until now we finish Linux and Windows base tests...

Screen from our first fpGUI application
on Debian64 7.08 with MATE Desktop as Working Desktop
.

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: fredvs

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
6 years 10 hours ago #6626 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Hello Sternas.

Wow...

Is it pure fpGUI or LCL-fpGUI ?

Thanks.

Fre;D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
6 years 10 hours ago #6627 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Pure fpGUI Platform Sir
but we want help on this

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
6 years 4 hours ago - 6 years 3 hours ago #6630 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT

but we want help on this


What help do you need ?

On screenshot, it seems that you are using LCL-fpGUI (i am not sure it is the right way).
Last edit: 6 years 3 hours ago by fredvs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #6631 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Sir our target is fpGUI as Platform integration to CodeTyphon.TyphonIDE
this part was missing from TyphonIDE
is any other way ?

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Last edit: 5 years 11 months ago by Sternas Stefanos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 11 months ago #6632 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Hello Sternas.

Sorry but i do not understand "Platform integration".

Do you mean integration of the LCL-fpGUI widgetset (like LCL-GTK widgetset or LCL-Qt widgetset) ?
If yes, as Graeme explain, it is not a good idea because you will only add the LCL-bugs to fpGUI, loosing all the plus of fpGUI (hyper-safe, hyper-light, hyper-fast).

The best way will be to integrate a pure fpGUI-designer, with his pure-fpGUI object inspector and use Typhon for source editor.
I may help you for the fpGUI-designer (github.com/fredvs/uidesigner_ext) => there are already patch for Typhon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #6633 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Yes,
task step 1)- I mean integration of the LCL-fpGUI widgetset (like LCL-GTK widgetset or LCL-Qt widgetset)
for Normal Style "LCL-application" (status: 100% now).

task step 2)-but all new Style "native fpGUI -applications" will use only fpGUI units (status: 50% now).

task step 3)-At last you can build Typhon IDE for fpGUI platform (if this is possible) ....(status: 10% now)

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Last edit: 5 years 11 months ago by Sternas Stefanos.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Miquel Matas, fredvs

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7067 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT

sternas wrote: step 1)- I mean integration of the LCL-fpGUI widgetset (like LCL-GTK widgetset or LCL-Qt widgetset)
for Normal Style "LCL-application" (status: 100% now).

Nice to see support for fpGUI in CodeTyphon. The LCL-fpGUI interface still needs lots of development work before it is useful though, so I don't believe this is the way to go in using fpGUI at the moment.

task step 2)-but all new Style "native fpGUI -applications" will use only fpGUI units (status: 50% now).

If there is anything I can help with, please let me know.

Register new Application Type with IDE
By the way, did you know inside fpGUI code repository there is a Lazarus IDE add-on package that registers a new Project Type, which starts a pure fpGUI Application via File -> New -> Application -> fpGUI Application. Take a look at the <fpgui>/extras/lazarus_ide/fpgui_ide.lpk package. fpGUI's code repository also includes Lazarus IDE code templates which I think you might also find useful. I actualy use code templates the most when starting a new fpGUI project. Again, see the <fpgui>/extras/code_templates/lazarus.dci file. Add the content to the default lazarus.dci file.

DocView (help viewer integration)
Take a look at the following web page which describes how you can integrate DocView into Lazarus IDE and many other IDE's and editors. [http://fpgui.sourceforge.net/docview_ide_integration.shtml]

fpGUI's UI Designer integration
Follow the same instructions as for DocView integration. I use the Ctrl+Shift+F11 shortcut to launch the UI Designer with the current file being edited.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7068 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Is there a daily download to test Lab CodeTyphon 5.3?

ps:
Not sure if you knew, but I recently release fpGUI v1.4, but I suggest you use the code from the 'fixes_1.4' branch which contains a couple of last minute fixes since the v1.4 release.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7069 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Yes Sir
we have update fpGUI to ver 1.4 in Lab CT 5.3 revision 005250
We will update again from GIT ASAP
Do you want, to upload this Lab CT for public test ?

PS: Do want to be the Moderator of this forum session (fpGUI) ?

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Sternas Stefanos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7070 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT

sternas wrote: Do you want, to upload this Lab CT for public test ?

No, I just wanted to know if there is a public beta/build of 5.3 that I could use to test. I don't really know how CT development works or even if you have public betas/builds available.

PS: Do want to be the Moderator of this forum session (fpGUI) ?

Thank you for the offer, but I will decline at this moment - simply because of my time constraints. But now that I know about this forum, I'll visit occasionally and help with queries on fpGUI where I can.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7072 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Sir
Lab CT 5.3 furum is here

you can update CodeTyphon Installation to Lab version with CTCenter->Update Manager




and then, if you want, you can go back to stable CT

More for CTCenter Update manager here

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Attachments:
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Sternas Stefanos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago #7073 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT

I don't really know how CT development works or even if you have public betas/builds available.


Hum, if you use freeBSD ( ;) ), CodeTyphon is for you.
It install all the dependencies to do last fpc release work.
Easy and without cry.

Fre;D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7075 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Many thanks, that is pretty impressive to do. :)

Okay, just did the above and got the following result:

=================================
...snip...
2015-04-23 11:50:43 (4.37 MB/s) - ‘typhon_src.7z’ saved [35821383/35821383]

FINISHED --2015-04-23 11:50:43--
Total wall clock time: 2m 5s
Downloaded: 63 files, 539M in 2m 3s (4.38 MB/s)
chmod: -R: No such file or directory
root is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
root is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
...snip...
root is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
_______________________________________________________________

Terminate Action at 23-4-15 11:50:43
Total time: 00:02:05.267
ExitCode : 0
=================================

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
More
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7077 by Sternas Stefanos
Replied by Sternas Stefanos on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Did you give Sudo root permissions to CodeTyphon installation user
like this installation

PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Sternas Stefanos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7079 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Yes, but I found the problem. It seems zupdate/allupdate.sh was being executed via sudo (switch to user root), and then inside the script it uses sudo and many commands again. Meaning it is trying to call sudo with the root user. Root is not in the sudoers file, hence the error.

My work-around was to run zupdate/allupdate.sh as my normal user, then run CodeTyhpon Center and select Scripts -> Studio Setup and then select build all. I'm now finally on v5.3. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7268 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Hello.
I have try to install fpGUI package => <fpgui>/extras/lazarus_ide/fpgui_ide.lpk but fpgui_ide.lpk needs => LazarusPackageIntf, LazIDEIntf, ProjectIntf.
Could it be possible to translate fpgui_ide.lpk into something CT compatible ?
This package adds a new project type in the Lazarus IDE => It would be good if it could be done in Typhon too.
So you can then create a fpGUI based project by going: 'File | New' and selecting 'fpGUI Application'.

PS: In new release => github.com/graemeg/fpGUI/tree/develop
[EDIT] and in github.com/graemeg/fpgui/tree/fixes_1.4 =>

In => <fpgui>/extras/lazarus_ide/fpgui_ide.lpk

=>
Added a new project type that uses fpGUI+Agg2D.
So you may choose now or "New fpGUI Application" or "New fpGUI Application using Agg2D".

Many thanks.

Fre;D
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by fredvs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago #7269 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Hi Fred,

:-) That was fast! The problem is that CT seems to rename all the Lazarus packages, thus it causes package dependency breakages in all code that is not included with CT. Quite annoying.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • fredvs
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7270 by fredvs
Replied by fredvs on topic fpGUI integration to CT

The problem is that CT seems to rename all the Lazarus packages, thus it causes package dependency breakages in all code that is not included with CT.


Hum, it seems to me that CT and Lazarus are quite different now.

For example, in => github.com/fredvs/uidesigner_ext , =>
is added a patch to make fpGUI designer integrated into Lazarus and Typhon IDE.

For Lazarus, the patch is applied to => main.pp
For Typhon, the patch is applied to => sourcefilemanager.pas

And main.pp <> sourcefilemanager.pas

By the way, sourcefilemanager.pas is much easier to use than main.pp (but that is a other story).

Fre;D
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by fredvs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 8 months ago - 5 years 8 months ago #7271 by Graeme Geldenhuys
Replied by Graeme Geldenhuys on topic fpGUI integration to CT
Yes, they are diverging, which also means it makes it harder for CT developers to integrate latest Lazarus and other package changes.

ps:
Regarding your "uidesigner_ext", why don't you rather use the Releases feature of github to distribute your binaries, instead of including them in the code repository? [https://github.com/fredvs/uidesigner_ext/releases] It is very easy to use on Github. Simply tag a commit with a release version, then go to the Release page and make a new release, selecting the release tag. Then upload your binaries against that release. That way you still have binary releases, and the source code repository doesn't have the huge binary file overhead (which makes your repository much larger to download). Github will automatically supply *.tar.gz and *.zip archives of the source code for each release.
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Graeme Geldenhuys.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.